Sell on Amazon Sign In
This article applies to selling in: Germany

Use the Purge and Replace option

When you upload an inventory file, you can use the Purge and Replace option to remove your current inventory and replace it with the inventory in the file. The listings that are not in the file will be removed from the Amazon web site. If you upload an empty inventory file with Purge and Replace selected, all your listings will be deleted.

We recommend that you request and download an Active Listing Report before using the Purge and Replace option. The Active Listings Report provides a good basis for reviewing your existing inventory records and can also serve as a backup file in case there is an error in the file you send when you perform a Purge and Replace.

When to use the Purge and Replace option

There are some good cases for using the Purge and Replace option.

Delete your entire inventory to start from scratch

If you need to remove and replace your entire inventory, you can upload an empty feed with just the headers and Purge and Replace option selected. This enables you to delete all your listings.

Use different SKUs to reference your products

If you decide to change the SKU naming convention you use to reference your products, you can use the Purge and Replace option to do this. However, you cannot use the Purge and Replace option to change your SKUs in the following two cases:

  • If there is overlap between your old and new set of SKUs, where any new SKU references a different product than the old one, don't use Purge and Replace.
  • If you are using the Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA) service, don't use Purge and Replace. It is not possible to use a different SKU for a product fulfilled by Amazon. In this case, you can create new SKUs for all your products not fulfilled by Amazon and then delete all old SKUs.

When to avoid the Purge and Replace option

In general, it is not recommended to use the Purge and Replace option to routinely manage your inventory levels. Use the Purge and Replace option sparingly and for special cases where you need to start from scratch with new inventory counts or need to make changes to your SKU-naming conventions.

Specifically, we don't recommend using Purge and Replace to perform the following tasks:

Disabling out-of-stock offers

Synchronizing your product database with your Amazon product listings

Although it is not recommended, you may use the Purge and Replace option to keep the products you list on Amazon synchronized with your own product database. The risk with this practice is having an error in your inventory file or uploading the wrong file, which may potentially erase your entire inventory on Amazon. This could result in lost sales opportunities while you re-list your products.

We recommend that you explicitly delete a product from your inventory only if you know that you are never going to sell that product again. If you are just temporarily out of stock, do not delete the product but do set the quantity to zero (0).

Sign in to use the tool and get personalized help (desktop browser required). Sign In


Reach hundreds of millions of customers

Start selling on Amazon


© 1999-2021, Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates